Sometimes social messages fail to publish as you expect them to. There are different reasons this may occur.

  • Your tweets were duplicate messages and rejected by Twitter for being spam.
  • Incorrect timezone settings in WordPress
  • Reauthorization of social account required
  • Your messages were set to draft, or scheduled for the past.
  • Social networks experiencing performance issues

Twitter rejects duplicate messages scheduled too soon after each other.

Twitter will reject duplicate messages that are sent too soon after each other. They view this as spam, and it is one reason we highly recommend you put effort into your social sharing schedule so that your Tweets are unique and helpful.

To review Twitter's ever-growing list of practices that they consider spam, read here. Twitter will pursue what it sees as spam behavior. If you schedule the same identical tweets within minutes, hours, or even days, there is a good chance your tweets will not publish and you will receive an error notification. It is possible to send the same tweet, but you must allow a good chunk of time and other unique tweets in between the two duplicate tweets.

If your tweets did not publish because of duplicate tweets, you may rework the tweets so that they are unique, and reschedule them. They should send without a problem. Our recommendation is to avoid any behavior that seems like spam, and to treat each social message as unique.

An incorrect timezone setting will cause social messages to publish incorrectly.

CoSchedule relies upon the time settings you use in WordPress. Be sure that you have the correct time zone selected in your WordPress installation, or the hour your social message is published may be off.

To access your time zone settings, go to the Settings > General section of your WordPress dashboard, and locate the time zone settings area. Use this guide to help you choose the correct settings.

You need to reauthorize your social media account.

There are times when you will need to reauthorize your account.

  • You have changed the login/password information for a social account.
  • The oauth token for a social account has expired for other reasons

You can reauthorize your account from the Settings > Social Profile area for your blog. When you need to reauthorize your account, it is important that you DO NOT delete a social account.

Deleting an account will remove any messages associated with that account. You won't have any history, nor will any of your scheduled messages be published. Reauthorizing an account will not have any effect on your messages.

reauthorize your accounts

Again, DO NOT delete an account unless you're sure that's what you want. Deleting an account will cause you to lose all messages, both from your history and those you have scheduled. Already published messages will not be removed from your social networks, but you will not see evidence of them in the CoSchedule plugin within WordPress. You will not see messages associated with that account listed under any post even if a message had been published to it previously.

Your message is set to draft.

Your social message may not have sent because it was still set to "draft." Changing the status of the message to "scheduled" or "published" will set your message to go live immediately or in the future, depending upon what you've chosen as a publishing time.

Your published blog post had a date/time in the past.

You may have had a publishing date and time set for your blog post which was in the past, and created all of your social messages along with it. If you publish the post without updating the date and time to be current and use the old timestamp instead, your social messages will not send. This is because the post will have been published "in the past" and your messages that were scheduled to go out at the same time as the post will show an error.

To fix this simple issue you can do one of two options:

  1. Go into WordPress or the CoSchedule calendar and change the post date and time today at the current time.
  2. Reschedule your social messages to send on a hard date and time and

Both options will work. The first option will not affect your post in any way, and will automatically send your messages quickly. The updated time you choose must be within 15 minutes or so of the current time for your messages to send.

The social network may be experiencing downtime or other issues.

At times, social networks experience issues out of our control. These are called soft failures. The might include such things as a message with too many characters, an invalid link in the message that the network won't accept, or even a hiccup on the server. Here are a few common issues:

Twitter:

Facebook:

  • Facebook API blinked and missed something (no, really)
  • Facebook invalid link
  • Facebook API request limit reached
  • Facebook API request limit reached
  • Facebook API server problem
  • Facebook API unknown problem

 Each network has different issues it may experience.

You will be notified if your social messages fail to send.

We will make six attempts to send your social messages. If a message does not send, we will determine if it was a soft or hard failure, and notify all users who are admins with an email. The email will briefly explain what happened and the solution necessary to correct the issue.

You will also see social messages that did not send indicated in red on your calendar. 


Not finding what you're looking for?

Contact Support