Content Distribution Plan: How to Conquer Declining Organic Reach
![Content Distribution: A Complete Guide to the Methods That Work Best](https://media.coschedule.com/uploads/2021/06/content-distribution-header.png?w=3840&q=75)
Content Distribution: A Complete Guide to the Methods That Work Best
Click To TweetOrganize Your Content Distribution With This Marketing Calendar Bundle
How can you make sure each piece of content you publish is effectively distributed? Start by planning all your distribution tactics on a marketing calendar. This kit includes several calendar templates for planning content marketing, social media campaigns, email sends, and more. If you’re doing to do something, put on the calendar:![Download Graphic](https://media.coschedule.com/uploads/2020/03/blog_content_distribution_plan-13.png?w=3840&q=75)
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What Does Content Distribution Mean?
Here’s a simple definition we can work with:![Content distribution definition](https://media.coschedule.com/uploads/2021/06/content-distribution-definition.png?w=3840&q=75)
Importance of Content Distribution
Brand awareness is a huge goal for many marketers. That, combined with the trust earned through content, is a key reason why businesses invest so heavily into content marketing. However, it only works when you’re reaching the right audience. Shiny object syndrome quickly creeps into most editorial calendars.![Content marketing editorial calendar](https://media.coschedule.com/uploads/2021/06/content-marketing-calendar.png?w=3840&q=75)
What Parts of Content Distribution Are Broken?
Before we get into the technicalities, let’s iron out why “traditional” content distribution no longer works.Social Media is Saturated
These days, people treat social media as their source of news. They head to sites, like Facebook and Twitter, to see what’s going on in the world. Sounds like a positive thing, right? It was — up until every publisher found the power social media has in content distribution. Now, it’s the go-to place for startups and massive media publications to share content. What does this mean?![Social media content distribution](https://media.coschedule.com/uploads/2021/06/content-distribution-social.png?w=3840&q=75)
Social Media Algorithms Make Content Hard to Find
Did you know that fewer than 6% of a Facebook Page’s followers will see an organic post?Cold Outreach Promoting Content Has Become Spammy
A few years back,cold email outreach was an effective way to promote your content and get backlinks while doing so. Marketers cottoned onto that and overdid it — which means that, now, most cold outreach emails come across as spammy. The people who default to “Hello Sir/Madam,” overused templates, and make it obvious they found your email through a scraping tool and ruined cold emails’ reputation.SEO is Extremely Competitive
SEO is the foundation of most content distribution strategies because search engines’ main goals are to connect searchers with content that solves their question, gives them information, or helps them buy something. In other words: the whole purpose of SEO is to reach people already looking for your content. However, SEO has gotten extremely competitive. It’s not just popular phrases, like “how to start a blog”, where you’re competing with millions (if not billions) of other websites. Niche phrases, like “how to disable usb port in windows 7 using cmd”, are still being targeted by 31 million+ sites:The authority, reputation, and history of your entire website come into play when Google decides where to rank a piece of content — with its quality making up only a small portion of ranking decisions.
Click To TweetWhat Are Some Common Content Marketing Distribution Channels?
Are you ready to start distributing your content without falling into one of those broken promotion strategies? Here are three key distribution channels to get you started.Search Engine Optimization (SEO)
We just touched on the fact that SEO is competitive, but if you get it right, you could see millions of people come to your site every month — without necessarily having to go out and do something to see a spike in traffic. That’s because search engines exist to connect people with content. People are already searching for the content you’re creating. By optimizing it for SEO, you can reach them whenever they’re looking for your content — as opposed to forcing it onto their Facebook timeline when they just want to passively scroll through their friends’ posts. It’s why organic search recently overtook social media in the most popular content distribution channel for marketers:Social Media
Despite the saturation, social media still is a great way to distribute content. There are over 4.2 billion people using social media across the world, each spending an average of 145 minutes on platforms like Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter every day. That’s a huge pool of potential readers you can target with your existing content. Distributing your content on multiple social media platforms gives you a shot at reaching them.Email Marketing
Did you know that87% of B2B marketersuse email marketing to distribute their content? It falls just behind social media in terms of popularity. Email marketing works so well as a distribution channel because you’re promoting your content to people who’ve already expressed interest in your brand and what you share. Subscribers have already opted in to hear from you, so use that to your advantage and treat your email list as a vehicle to deliver content to readers.Understanding Paid vs. Owned vs. Earned Media
Expanding how you distribute your content, and not just relying on social media sites to show off your work, is the secret to building a distribution engine. To do this, you’ll need to use three distribution channels:Owned Distribution
Owned channels are platforms you have complete control over. Nobody can take your audience away from you; it’s yours to do what you wish once you’ve built it. This can include:- RSS
- LinkedIn/Facebook Groups
Earned Distribution
In the case of earned distribution channels, someone else essentially controls it, but you’ve put in the work to earn an audience there. Some examples include:- SEO
- Forums (e.g. Quora)
- Upvoting sites (e.g. Indie Hackers,Growth Hackers, and Reddit)
- Medium
- Slideshare
Paid Distribution
This distribution channel is pretty self-explanatory; you give cash in return for reaching an audience owned by someone else. That might include:- Paid social
- Google Ads
- Native advertising through platforms (e.g.Outbrain)
- Content curation submission sites (e.g. Quuu Promote or Zest)
How to Approach Content Distribution
Are you ready to make a content distribution plan that gets your content in front of your target reader?![Content distribution action plan](https://media.coschedule.com/uploads/2021/06/content-distribution-action-plan.png?w=3840&q=75)
Are you ready to make a content distribution plan that gets your content in front of your target reader?
Click To Tweet1. Plan Everything on a Content Calendar
There’s a fine line between not promoting content enough and annoying people by sharing it too much. Get a visual understanding of how often you’re promoting your content by using an editorial calendar. This can be as simple as a spreadsheetthat details:- What you’re promoting
- Which channel you’re sharing it on
- The date and time you’ll be posting it
2. Start With an SEO-Driven Approach
Earlier, we talked about how SEO is a competitive space. You need more than high-quality content to reach the top spots, so make sure you have the basics covered, like a technically-sound website structure, optimized page layout, and some backlinks. More on that later. The good news is that it’s possible to drive traffic through search engines — you just need patience and realistic goals. In this case, SEO informs your entire content marketing strategy, starting with brainstorming the content you should be creating. Start by targeting terms you can rank for. These are keywords or phrases that:- Have low keyword difficulty
- Have a high search volume
- Are relevant to your business’s core offering
3. Continue Using Social Media
Chances are, you’re using social media in the way most other publications are, so boost your chances of social media promotion working for you by continuing to use social media — with a few tweaks. The first being to tag other accounts in your content. If you’ve quoted someone in your content, for example, pull their quote and tag their Twitter handle when promoting it on Twitter. You’ll reach their audience if they retweet or engage with it. In most cases, they will. Also, try to target trending topics with your content; it’s why the news is so popular and widely-shared. People want to read new, exciting things related to what’s going on at that moment. Kontentino did this by leveraging a talked-about topic (coronavirus) and tying it into their content. They posted that headline on Growth Hackers and got over 3,000 extra views on their post.4. Pay for Play
With social media algorithms making it harder for brands to reach their followers, the number of marketers using social media advertising/promoted posts increased to 83% from 60% over the last 12 months:The Twitter ad platform is still one of the most underrated and underutilized content distribution tactics on the web. Marketers tend to use them incorrectly and then give up immediately. Twitter ads are not Facebook ads. Use them to start a conversation with your audience. You can run straight up ads ('dark posts'), carousel posts, videos or promoted Tweetstorms. Twitter custom-tailored audiences are your secret weapon. With tools such as Followerwonk, Ahrefs, Buzzsumo, and some Google Sheets API add-ons you can assemble audiences built around your competitors, hot content topics and popular hashtags. If you want to build up your Twitter following while also distributing content you can make video ads work twice as hard for you. Targeted video views can be bought on Twitter for pennies which make for a very affordable retargeting audience for future content promotion.Regardless of which platform you choose to advertise your content on, always set KPIs to stop your budget from running away from you. Metrics like:
![CPC, CPM, bounce rate](https://media.coschedule.com/uploads/2021/06/cpc-cpm-br.png?w=3840&q=75)
5. Leverage Other People’s Audiences
Don’t have an existing audience to use when promoting your content? That doesn’t mean you have zero audience altogether. Content distribution is easier when you can leverage other people’s audiences. Also known as “partner” marketing, you can buddy-up with other people in your space and help each other out. Some examples include:- Quoting experts in your article, then asking them to share it with their subscribers/followers when it gets published.
- Working with partners to get content placed in their email newsletters.
- Pitching your content to bloggers to get placed in roundups with other similar content.
- Speaking on podcasts to talk about the topic your content is about.
6. Create Content People Want to Link
Backlinks are a crucial part of any content distribution strategy. Links from other websites to your own improve your site’s overall authority, as well as the page you’re trying to promote. That helps build the SEO momentum we discussed earlier. So, what does link-worthy content look like? This can be as simple as a round-up post. Take Databox, for example; the majority of their content marketing strategy is round-up posts. They ask marketers for their opinions, compile data, and share them in a neatly-packaged blog post. Their round-up of software marketing tools did exactly that. The result? Over 170 backlinks and hundreds more social shares:- Calculators
- Quizzes
- Interactive infographics
7. Repurpose Your Existing Content
Not every piece of content needs a unique distribution material. Think about it: if you already have a blog post that’s ranking on page two of Google, you could repurpose and re-optimize that guide to make your SEO distribution network work harder. Repurposing applies to any other channel. You could turn one foundational piece to create different types of content, such as:- Turning case studies into Slideshare decks
- Using blog post graphics on social media
- Sharing content via email
- Turning webinars into 30-second Facebook video ads
- Reusing blog posts around a topical area and turning them into courses you can monetize
- “On YouTube: As a playlist that you can position as a course.
- On Twitter: Threads of each individual video so that you can post it throughout a week or more, depending on the number of videos.
- Via Email: You can increase your newsletter subscribers by sharing this course over email as gated content.